From frustration comes success!

Posted on February 2, 2012

0


Have you ever had one of those days when you just try to get something done and no matter what you try, it just doesn’t come together.
Well – that’s how my day was today.. but at 9.30pm, small break through and it is easy to go and rest (after posting this).

This all about learning to do Panoramic 360 interactive images – before the Xmas I did few with my Canon 1D MKIV and Tokina 11-16mm f2.8 – which you have seen on the site already if you have browsed through it. Since then I have added a full-frame camera Canon 5D MKII, which I hope to take most of these images from now on.. but boy has it made me swear in the last few days.

Four different locations I have attempted to photograph so far in the last two days, and using the Tokina at 11mm focal length. And every time I have attempted to stitch the images together (sometimes trying to build a 70 image panorama!) the results have been garbled and mis-aligned.
Waving my hands at the computer and Apple’s MagicMouse flying around the office – I have been scratching my head to figure out why this is??
I have re-aligned the Nodal point, checked other measurements.. all seems to be in order, so why aren’t the image working out?

So, I took out few of the panoramas I did earlier and noticed that on those the images were clearly framed as ‘portrait’ style, where as the 11mm on the full-frame gives a weird looking composition. It was this that was throwing the image-stitching software “PtGui” off balance, as it could not figure the orientation of the images…

With energy and will slowly seeping out of me – I decided to just have one last play with it for tonight.. adjust the focal length to 16mm, so it covers the frame.. no funny edges. Just snap the 18 images quickly on JPEG, load them to PtGui.. cross the fingers.. YES! YES!! SUCCESS!!!
The panorama aligns perfectly (OK, not perfect as I wasn’t too bothered about the composition, etc) – but the images slot in, no warning messages from PtGui.. lovely-jovely…

Have you ever had one of those days when you just try to get something done and no matter what you try, it just doesn’t come together.
Well – that’s how my day was today.. but at 9.30pm, small break through and it is easy to go and rest (after posting this).

This all about learning to do Panoramic 360 interactive images – before the Xmas I did few with my Canon 1D MKIV and Tokina 11-16mm f2.8 – which you have seen on the site already if you have browsed through it. Since then I have added a full-frame camera Canon 5D MKII, which I hope to take most of these images from now on.. but boy has it made me swear in the last few days.

Four different locations I have attempted to photograph so far in the last two days, and using the Tokina at 11mm focal length. And every time I have attempted to stitch the images together (sometimes trying to build a 70 image panorama!) the results have been garbled and mis-aligned.
Waving my hands at the computer and Apple’s MagicMouse flying around the office – I have been scratching my head to figure out why this is??
I have re-aligned the Nodal point, checked other measurements.. all seems to be in order, so why aren’t the image working out?

So, I took out few of the panoramas I did earlier and noticed that on those the images were clearly framed as ‘portrait’ style, where as the 11mm on the full-frame gives a weird looking composition. It was this that was throwing the image-stitching software “PtGui” off balance, as it could not figure the orientation of the images…

With energy and will slowly seeping out of me – I decided to just have one last play with it for tonight.. adjust the focal length to 16mm, so it covers the frame.. no funny edges. Just snap the 18 images quickly on JPEG, load them to PtGui.. cross the fingers.. YES! YES!! SUCCESS!!!
The panorama aligns perfectly (OK, not perfect as I wasn’t too bothered about the composition, etc) – but the images slot in, no warning messages from PtGui.. lovely-jovely…

Now, after all the hand-waving, gesturing and few ugly words.. there is a sense of relief as I figured out the mystery.. if you keep at and look at the problem from all possible angles, the answer eventually does come to you.. as it did for me.

Where as this panorama here is far from the most elaborate and brilliant that I have made.. it is a fruit of countless hours in front of the computer and few more grey hairs on my head…so, in that sense – it is one of the most satisfying Panoramas I have done up to today..

The image is a 360 degree ‘sphere’ of my office, the place where I sit many evenings.. writing to newspapers, teams, organisers.. trying to come up with new and wacky ideas.. so, if nothing else, have a look around my workspace – I know you want to.. 🙂

http://www.googabu360degrees.com/2012/02/02/frustration-and-learning-result/

Now, after all the hand-waving, gesturing and few ugly words.. there is a sense of relief as I figured out the mystery.. if you keep at and look at the problem from all possible angles, the answer eventually does come to you.. as it did for me.

Where as this panorama here is far from the most elaborate and brilliant that I have made.. it is a fruit of countless hours in front of the computer and few more grey hairs on my head…so, in that sense – it is one of the most satisfying Panoramas I have done up to today..

The image is a 360 degree ‘sphere’ of my office, the place where I sit many evenings.. writing to newspapers, teams, organisers.. trying to come up with new and wacky ideas.. so, if nothing else, have a look around my workspace – I know you want to.. 🙂

 

 

