Birmingham City Ladies reporting back to training!

Posted on January 9, 2012

0


It might be early January, but the thoughts are slowly turning towards the summer, and one of the many things it means for me is the travels with Birmingham City Ladies FC. I’ve been photographing the team for few years, on and off – and last season experienced the first WSL season with the team, attending about 85% of their games.

The players reported back to the training ground on Sunday for the first time, plenty of familiar faces – well, it was only familiar faces, like Karen Carney, Rachel Williams, Jo Potter…. as the WSL transfer window doesn’t open until the 20th of January. As well as the challenging for the WSL title, FA Cup – the Blues are also heading out for the Champions League this summer. Which gives me another travel into Europe in the autumn – from what I heard, the team is seeded so that they will go straight into the ‘knock-out’ stages and thus missing the initial tournaments of four teams to qualify for the Champions League.

As some of you might already know, I feel that Women’s football gets me much more ‘keepers’ from the photos I take. And that was true even in the training session on Sunday – in the little less than an hour I had managed many more ‘keepers’ than I would normally do from a Men’s Premier League/Championship game.
I was helped by the lovely ‘spring’ sunshine as well – keeping the light nice and bright, thus keeping the ISO on levels one can only dream about in the evenings..

Pictures should slowly start to appear at the Blues Ladies website at and I will also post some to my own Galleries in the coming days.

One thing that many fans/people say to me is that I am too nice when publishing my images – keeping away some of the more ‘entertaining’ images.
There should be few players in the Blues team thanking me for not posting ALL the images online 😉
Still – when you work as part of any team/organisation .. you gotta keep thinking like that sometimes.

