Why in England?

Posted on June 24, 2011

0


Being a Sports Photographer isn’t much ‘fun’ here in England…

What?? I hear you ask.

Now don’t get me wrong – there is plenty of good sports to photograph over here, but what I am getting at here is the fact that I can not share my images with the world. Most of the leagues here have very strict Licence Agreements stating clearly where you images can be displayed, that they need to be protected by passwords.. and so and so and so on.

Sometimes you get that ‘great’ shot of something happening in a game, and think that ‘DAMN – I want to share that one with people I know and people who read the Blog’. But I can’t – in many cases the photo isn’t even ‘mine’ anymore, it is property of the paper or agency I took for. So no sharing images..

Then I read the Blogs of fellow photographers from around the World and look how they share images from their top leagues, and no-one bats an eyelid.

But that is the way things are – and you got to adjust the way you operate to work accordingly. So just because you don’t see many images in my blog – it doesn’t mean I haven’t taken many pictures 🙂 Then again, sitting 8 hours a day for five days in a row and photographing cricket, you do hope that you would capture something worth mentioning.

Back to the cricket at New Road in Worcester tonight – although it might be a rain-soaked evening.

Posted in: Uncategorized